Lucid Dreams

We all have them, at least I think we all have them, at one time or another. Lucid dreams are dreams where you realize that you ARE dreaming while in the dream and can effectively control the dream as you see fit. Now, I don’t ever actually recall “realizing” that I was dreaming in the lucid dreams that I have had, but I was able to do pretty much anything I wanted in those dreams.
The most common abilities I have used in lucid dreams are: flying, gliding along the ground, being able to breathe underwater, immunity to all harm, magical powers (mostly spell-like powers derived from the Dungeons & Dragons RPG 2nd Edition rules), teleportation, and the unique ability to Quicksave and Quickload in order to undo poor decisions I make WITHIN the dream. Using one or more of these abilities in a lucid dream state is always fun and I’m usually bummed out when I wake up. Sometimes though, even when not in a dream where I feel like I have control, I’m still able to use underwater breathing or gliding.
To further describe the fun these abilities provide:

Flying – This one is pretty self-explanatory but for me, I achieve flying but starting from a standing position on the ground and jumping straight up into the air where I, “catch a wind current”, and am then able to fly along and control my direction.

Gliding – This is one is strange. What I do is, I normally jump off of something that is low to the ground but not at ground level, such as a set of steps. This allows me to very slowly float back to the ground but never actually touch the ground. What happens is, that I stop falling a couple of inches above the ground and enter a state of forward movement as if I’m gliding on a cushion of air. I get into a near surfer-like stance where I lean back slightly with one foot pointed forward and the other foot angled sideways and my knees slightly bent. I then glide around at running speed on the invisible “air cushion” and can apparently travel as far as I want under this form of locomotion. Onlookers in my dreams who see me do this, are always in a state of disbelief.

Underwater Breathing – Self-explanatory. With this one, I can breathe as normally underwater as I can when above water. There is no labored breathing involved, no struggling, no distress experienced going from a nitrogen-oxygen atmosphere into a total liquid environment. Breathing underwater is as easy and effortless as breathing i the air itself. This ability also seems to be the one ability that I always have in every dream. It always came in handy in the daily tsunami dreams I used to have.

Immunity to All Harm – Again, pretty self-explanatory. This one just seems to go along as an automatic ability in lucid dreaming and doesn’t actually have to be “called upon” or “willed into existence” by me. I’ve been shot, stabbed, fallen from heights, burned, and even nuked in dreams where nuclear warheads have been launched and detonated nearby me. I survive it all every time and I do not automatically wake up at the same time when I should have been killed. The dream goes on but sometimes, like when I get nuked, I’m in a temporary ghost-like state as I can still see, hear, speak, and act despite the fact that I may be looking at my own body or charred remains/ashes. I’m assuming that most people don’t actually “die” in there dreams either but I think the “dream rule” is that you are supposed to wake up when you “die” in a dream.

Magical Powers – This one is always fun and allows for the most freedom. Normally, when I can call upon this lucid dream ability, I will also have flying, gliding, and every thing else at my disposal as well. I don’t have to recite any kind of magical words or phrases to use any of the powers, I just need t simply say the name of the spell I wish to use. As previously stated, the spell powers I find myself having, are taken directly from the 2nd Edition (and 1st edition) rules set from the Advanced Dungeons & Dragons pen-and-paper RPG that I used to play religiously throughout the 1980s and early 90s. Usually, or perhaps, inevitably, because I HAD those kinds of powers, I preferred to act in an anti-social or criminal manner when using those powers. If I wanted to do something quietly without anyone hearing me, I would invoke a “silence spell” by saying, “Silence 15 foot radius!”. The spell wouldn’t silence ME like it did in the game, but would make any sound I made in a 15 foot radius around me, inaudible to anyone outside of that radius. If I wanted to throw lightning at someone, I would intone, “Lightning Bolt!” while pointing my finger at them. Great, great fun.

Teleportation – For those who don’t know what this is, it is the ability to transport someone or something from one physical location to another, instantaneously. I only ever seemed to have this power when I had the Quicksave and Quickload abilities available. To use teleportation; I had to close my eyes, concentrate on the desire to teleport, and then will it to happen. The ability was not foolproof in that it didn’t always work. Also, it always seemed like I could use it more than a few times as I would be concentrating on activating the power but it would just not function.

Quicksave and Quickload – for those who are not familiar, these terms come directly from video games. A Quicksave is a method of saving your current progress, status, condition, accomplishments, state of the game world, and everything else you have done in the game up to that point, with a single keypress. It’s called “quick” because normally, one has to back out to the main menu, then go to the save game menu, then choose a save game slot, then save the game, then return to the game. Quicksaving saves your game to one slot, the same slot, in the save game menu by pressing a single key only. A Quickload is a single keypress load game feature that only loads the save file you used the Quicksave feature to save with. Whew. So now, in my lucid dream states, whenever I want to try something crazy or reckless in the dream, I would reach my hand out in front of me as if there was an invisible keyboard floating in the air, and I strike an invisible F5 key and quicksave my current state in the dream. Then I go and do whatever I had in mind to try. Usually, it would end up turning bad. So once again, I reach out and strike the invisible F8 key on my invisible floating keyboard and BAM, I’m right back where I was when I quicksaved and can start over from there consequence free. Clearly, I’ve spend many, many years playing video games for this power to even find it’s way in to my dreams.

Well, that about covers it for lucid dreaming. I don’t know what other people are capable of doing in their lucid dream states, but these are what I can do.

About moonman_alpha

You probably don't want to know... Besides, it's a secret ;).
This entry was posted in Affective Dreams. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

